I baked two batches of cookies today. Last week at one of the shows for Flood Stories, Too, one of my choir members came up from the green room with a cookie. By the time I got down there, they were gone. Yesterday, a friend of mine brought Jell-o jigglers for the cast members. I decided then and there that I was going to make cookies to bring in for everyone to enjoy.

This morning, I checked my baking supplies and had JUST enough on hand to make one batch of chocolate chip cookies. One batch yields about five dozen cookies. There are roughly sixty people in the cast. I knew one batch wouldn’t be enough, so I ran to Walmart and got more flour, butter, vanilla extract, and chocolate chips. Of the roughly eleven dozen cookies I baked today, three dozen stayed here. The rest went with me to the theater tonight. I wish I could say that I came home with an empty container, but once my cookies were gone, someone dumped the remainder of the store bought cookies into my carrier, which still sits on the table at the theater. Oh well. I’ll be back there tomorrow anyway.

One of the things I like to do before a show or performance of any type is to warm up my voice. Usually I do this in my car on the way to wherever it is I am going to sing, but I was enjoying the silence in my car for once and never turned on my music. This lead to me trying to find a quite place in the theater to warm up, as I prefer to do so without an audience.

I had an audience.

I was singing Green Finch and Linnet Bird from Sweeney Todd when all of a sudden there was someone standing beside me! Talk about EMBARRASSING!!! Now, I don’t think that I’m a bad singer, but when I’m warming up, I tend to do things a little differently than I would if I was just singing. The guy who came up on me said that I sounded good, but still… I sing differently when I know I have no one watching or listening. That’s why I tried to find a quiet place to sing!

Lesson learned. Warm up in the car. But the silence was great!

So on the cruise front, my friend Jenn and her roommate paid off their cruise!!! Part of me is jealous, but it is the part of me that reacts that same way any time anyone posts about having the cruise paid off. I said to her that I would have mine paid off in two weeks…and then it hit me.

TWO WEEKS!!! Our final payment is due in TWO WEEKS!!! Anyone not ready for that yet? I’m not sure how I feel about it! I mean, really! While I’m excited that it’s coming up, I know that this will make it real for me. Up until now, it’s been something intangible, something that was coming, but still a long time off. Now all of a sudden, it’s here!

Well, not quite yet, but you understand. Once that payment is made, it’s official. I’ll really be on the boat! Then the themes will come. Then the packing will start. Then the nerves will set in.

I’m not looking forward to the nerves. I just know that I will have an upset tummy from it. When I’m nervous, it goes straight to my stomach! I’ll be perfectly healthy, but my tummy will be rumbly like Pooh looking for honey!

…I’m such a mom.

Anyway, two weeks until final payment! Two months from now, some of us will already be in Miami! Nine weeks from now, I’ll be in Miami!!! It’s insane!!! It’s coming!!!